Australian Entrepreneurs Recognised At 2017 Pearcey Awards

Press Release

Kate Lundy, Helen Meredith, Dr Mike Miller and Collis and Cyan Ta'eed recognised at the National Pearcey Foundation Awards

Sydney, Australia - 2 November 2017 - The Pearcey Foundation today announced its National Entrepreneur of the Year, Hall of Fame inductees and Pearcey Medal winner. The winners were presented as part of the ACS National Digital Disruptor Awards and Reimagination event held in Sydney on Thursday, 2 November 2017.

"The Pearcey Medal, Pearcey Hall of Fame and National Entrepreneur of the Year Award are the most prestigious individual awards in Australia's technology industry," said Wayne Fitzsimmons, National Chair, Pearcey Foundation.

"The Pearcey Foundation exists to promote the role and significance of the ICT sector to the Australian community, and we do this through the recognition of individuals who have made, and continue to make, a contribution over and above their day job. This is the twentieth presentation of the Pearcey Medal and associated national awards, which is a significant milestone for a national and entirely voluntary organisation."

Collis and Cyan Ta'eed, co-founders of Envato, were announced as the 2017 National Entrepreneur Award winners, selected from this year's State Pearcey Award recipients. This award gives prominence to one of the State winners for inspiring leadership, scale, impact, innovation and acclaim on the world stage. The full list of 2017 State Pearcey winners is included below.

Former Federal Labor Senator Kate Lundy and technology journalist and commentator Helen Meredith were inducted into the Pearcey Hall of Fame, which recognises individuals who have made very significant lifetime contributions into one or more of Australia's ICT research, industry, or professional development fields.

"Kate has been a tireless advocate for innovation and for the recognition and support of the local ICT sector. Her accessibility has given our sector a 'voice' in Canberra; and her frank feedback to industry was always appreciated," said Fitzsimmons.

"Apart from her peerless status as an IT journalist and commentator over many years, Helen was active in the establishment in 1989 of Females in IT and Telecommunications - FITT - with the express purpose of inspiring women to achieve their career aspirations and potential at all levels and disciplines in ICT by providing support and facilitating peer networking."

The third Pearcey Hall of Fame inductee, Emeritus Professor Dr Mike Miller AO, was also presented with this year's Pearcey Medal. The Pearcey Medal is a prestigious annual individual award that recognises a distinguished lifetime achievement and contribution to the development and growth of the Australian ICT industry. The Pearcey Medal has been awarded annually, with Dr Peter Jones the industry's first Pearcey Medallist in 1998.

Dr Miller was the founding Director of the highly regarded Institute for Telecommunications Research (ITR) which has focussed on research in satellite and terrestrial wireless communications.  

"As well as publishing internationally and widely, Mike has focussed over many years on developing the entrepreneurship capabilities within his University of South Australia student cohort. This has resulted in several notable start-ups emerging including Cohda Wireless, Myriota, and m.Net," said Fitzsimmons.

2017 Pearcey State Awards

ACT: the joint winners were Mark Riley, co-founder and CTO of ContentKeeper and Phillip Williamson, co-founder and Chief Innovator at Intelledox.

VIC: the winners were husband and wife team Collis and Cyan Ta'eed, co-founders, owners and managers of Envato, a major global marketplace for creative assets and creative people based in Melbourne.

WA: WA's inaugural Pearcey State Award was presented to ICT startup mentor and leader Matthew Macfarlane.

SA: the award was presented to Kloud founder and Business SA director Geoff Rohrsheim.

QLD: the 2017 winner was Jenine Beekhuyzen, founder of Adroit Research and the Tech Girls Movement.

NSW: the award was presented to the co-founders of Airtasker, Tim Fung and Jonathan Lui.

Media Contact:

Martin Aungle
Explore Communications

t: 02 4872 4981
m: 0415 917 381

About the Pearcey Foundation

The Pearcey Foundation Inc. is a non-profit organisation established in 1998 to raise the profile of the Australian Information and Communications Technology (ICT) industry and profession. It was created in the memory of one of the greatest pioneers of the Australian ICT industry, Dr Trevor Pearcey. By celebrating the heroes in our industry, past present and future, the Foundation is looking to attract and encourage young Australians into this most exciting of global high technology sectors of our nation.

Web: and on Twitter: @Pearcey_org