Wayne Fitzsimmons Awarded Oam

The Pearcey Foundation's own chairman, Wayne Fitzsimmons, was awarded an OAM in the Queen's Birthday 2018 Honours List. Wayne was recognised for his service to information technology, covering a career lifetime in senior executive positions and helping to advance Australia's ICT capabilities.

Wayne is a very humble person and was surprised but delighted with the award. When asked about it, in true style, he wanted to recognise all the people around him and to point out the significance to the ICT industry that ICT was being recognised in the Hounours list.

Wayne's OAM is most deserved. Wayne has worked tirelessly in his role as Chairman of the Pearcey Foundation. He has engendered cooperation across state and organisational borders and is forever overcoming hurdles to help organisations work together to advance Australia's ICT capabilities. He travels frequently to achieve this. Wayne is highly respected across the ICT industry and his leadership is purely altruistic as he receives no financial nor career benefit.

In addition, Wayne is active in many other parts of the ICT Industry. This includes being on the board of many early stage companies, mentoring entrepreneurs, participating in advisory panels and being a judge for several ICT award committees.

Wayne has an untiring belief in Australia's capability to innovate and be a world player in ICT and has put his effort and his own financial resources into promoting this message to young and old participants, to policy makers, and to business leaders.

Honours List Entry

Here's the excerpt from the The Queen's Birthday 2018 Honours List.


Mr Kenneth Wayne FITZSIMMONS, Kew Vic 3101
For service to information technology.

Service includes:

The Pearcey Foundation Inc:
National Chairman, since 2005.
Board Member, since 2000.

Judge, Clunies Ross Awards Selection Committee, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, current.

Member, Industry Advisory Group, Department of Electrical Engineering, Melbourne University, current.
Honorary Fellow, University of Melbourne.

Founding Principal, Mooroolbark Investments Group, since 1998.
Board Member, Founder Xperior Pty Ltd, since 2016.
Board Member, Cohda Wireless Pty Ltd, since 2009.
Foundation Investor, SciVentures Pty Ltd, since 2002.
Chief Executive Office and Founder, Open Directory, 1997.
Chief Executive Office and Board Member, Datacraft, 1994-1997.
International Vice-President, Banyan Systems Corp, Massachusetts USA, 1990-1993.
Vice-President, Americas/Far East, Data General Corp, Massachusetts, USA, 1983-1990.

Honorary Member, Australia Computer Society.

Fellow, Engineers Australia

See Also

ACS article - Wayne Fitzsimmons awarded OAM, Pearcey Foundation chair leads ICT industry in 2018 honours