Industry News

Blog posts related to important ICT news in Australia

Jun 3, 2022

Opening of Graeme Philipson Library

On June 3, 2022, the Graeme Philipson History of Computing Library was launched. The keynote was given by Dr Peter Thorne AM, Chair of the Heritage Committee project run by the Pearcey Foundation.

Read More Read More
Nov 24, 2020

2020 Eureka Science Award to Sydney Uni's "Sydney Nano"

Sydney Uni's Nano Centre in Department of Physics was awarded the 2020 Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in protecting Australia.  By harnessing the delicate interaction between light and sound, Professor Ben Eggleton and his team have produced a microchip that provides a unique advantage for defence platforms.

Read More Read More
Oct 24, 2019

Prof Rod Tucker Honoured

Rod Tucker speaking at the inauguration of the Tucker Lab at Melbourne University

Read More Read More
Dec 19, 2017

2017 Industry News

24 July 2017 - Steve Baxter set to be the next Queensland's chief entrepreneur (SmartCompany article)

4 July 2017 - US Award for Bill Caelli AO. Bill Caeli AO was awarded the Founders' Medal by the Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education (CISSE). (ACS article)

Read More Read More
Jul 6, 2017

Beware the wolves of Silicon Valley

Sandy Plunkett shares her perspective on recent industry events and calls out how money, fame, power and hubris inevitably brings with it bad behaviour

Read More Read More
Dec 19, 2016

2016 Industry News

1 December 2016 - StartupAUS releases its CrossRoads Report 2016(PDF, 6.6 MB) on the Australian startup ecosystems. Contains good analysis and recommendations, though perhaps could have more broadly considered industry initiatives from organisations like Pearcey, AIIA or ACS and also successes in our public markets where 180+ tech companies have listed in the last 3 years.

Read More Read More
Sep 2, 2016

2016 Digital Innovation Festival

Pearcey was proud to host a series of events as part of the Digital Innovation Festival Victoria These events (2-6 September 2016) included a Pearcey Institute breakfast, Melbourne's Digital Changemakers panel and the 2016 Pearcey Oration.

Read More Read More
Jan 26, 2016

2016 Australia Day Honours recognise two Pearcey National Awardees

Two past National Pearcey Awardees were recognised in the 2016 Australia Day Honours lists. These were Emeritus Prof. Mary O'Kane, 2014 Pearcey Medal winner and Dr Craig Mudge, 2012 Pearcey Hall of Fame.

Read More Read More