Pearcey News

Blog posts about the Pearcey Foundation

Nov 1, 2023

National Awards Announced

On October 31st in Sydney the Pearcey Foundation celebrated its jubilee year and presented its national awards.

The premier lifetime achievement award, the Pearcey Medal, was presented to brothers Aidan and David Tudehope, co-founders of Macquarie Technology Group.

For their lifetimes of achievement, Richard White, Founder and CEO of Wisetech Global, and Professor Jean Armstrong, engineer, inventor, teacher and researcher, were inducted into the Pearcey Hall of Fame.

Selected from among the state and territory recipients of the Pearcey Entrepreneur Award, recipient of the Victorian award, Didier Elzinga, Founder and CEO of CultureAmp, was awarded the Pearcey National Entrepreneur Award.

These important recognitions of our heroes and heroine of the Australian ICT sector were reported in the Startup Daily, iTWire, Information Age, CRN, Data Center News Asia, CFOtech Australia, Channel Life Australia, IT Brief Australia, Telco News Australia and elsewhere.

Sep 7, 2023

Australia's First Digital Computer on ABC Sunday Extra

In 1955, the first digital computer arrived in Australia in Melbourne, called CSIRAC. It is the world's oldest surviving first-generation electronic computer and the first computer to produce digital music.

Our guest was the former Head of the Dept of Computer Science at the Uni of Melbourne and explains how CSIRAC led to the rapid adoption of computing at the university and fostered the discipline.

Guest: Dr Peter Thorne, former Head of the Department of Computer Science, University of Melbourne, Chair, Heritage Committee, The Pearcey Foundation. Broadcast 3 Sep 2023

Read More Read More
Jun 16, 2023

Australia 4.0 - path to Net Zero

Australia 4.0 is a Pearcey Foundation thought leadership initiative to identify and discuss the challenges and opportunities of a digital and data enabled transformation of the electricity sector to Australia Net Zero.

Read More Read More
Nov 13, 2022

Our Latest IT Industry Greats: Pearcey Foundation Presents its 2022 National Awards

John de Margheriti awarded the 2022 Pearcey Medal; Len Rust and Bevan Slattery inducted into the Pearcey Hall of Fame; Dr Mark Englund receives National Entrepreneur Award

Read More Read More