Privacy note If you do not wish to continue to receive this newsletter please e-mail admin@whitehorsestrategic.com.

Your decision to be removed from our mailing list will be respected. Thank you.

PEARCEY FOUNDATION INC.



I would like to support the Foundation, so how do I become a **Sponsor**?

WELCOME

This newsletter is available on the website "<u>News</u>".

Pearcey Contacts

Ian Dennis, National Chairman Wayne Fitzsimmons, Nat'l Dep. Chair Nancy Librizzi, National Administrator Tina Xydias, National Administrator Assistant

State Committees

VIC Chair – Peter Thorne NSW Chair – Len Rust QLD Chair – David Merson SA Chair - Brenda Aynsley TAS Chair – Stephen Poljansek

Details of our Pearcey Medal and Award winners (1999- 2003) are overleaf.

PEARCEY LAUNCH IN TASMANIA

The Pearcey Foundation has now established in Tasmania, with the active assistance of the Tasmanian branch of Australian Computer Society, and with three years full funding support from the Tasmanian Government for the Tasmanian Pearcey Award, through the Intelligent Island Program. The Intelligent Island Program is funded by the Commonwealth Government from the partial sale of Telstra and is jointly managed by the Tasmanian Government through the Department of Economic Development.

The Pearcey Foundation was launched in Tasmania on March 30 by **Lara Giddings**, Tasmanian Minister for Economic Development, before an audience including representatives of the ACS, Tasmanian ICT industry, and TasIT, the industry association.

INTRODUCING

The first Tasmanian Chair of the Pearcey Foundation is **Stephen Poljansek**, of LogicaCMG, Hobart.

The Pearcey Foundation are also pleased to confirm that the Victorian, South Australian and NSW Governments have confirmed continuation of their support for 2004, with full support from Victoria and NSW for their Awards, and a significant contribution from the SA Government for the SA Award.

PEARCEY FOUNDATION INC.

HONORARY PATRONS

National Patron Hon. John Howard Sen. Kate Lundy Hon. Richard Alston

Victorian Patrons Hon. John Brumby Hon. Marsha Thomson

New South Wales Patron Hon. Kim Yeadon

Queensland Patron Hon. Tony McGrady Hon. Paul Lucas

South Australian Patron Hon. Jane Lomax-Smith



Pearcey Foundation Inc.

(A.B.N. 78091361382)

Level 3, 45 William Street MELBOURNE 3000 Victoria, Australia

Telephone: +61 3 9614 8510 Fax: +61 3 9614 8201 E-mail: admin@pearcey.org.au Web: www.pearcey.org.au National Pearcey Medal 2003 Lyndsey Cattermole 2002 Bill Caelli 2001 Tony Benson 2000 George Kepper 1999 Trevor Robinson 1998 Peter Jones

Pearcey Hall of Fame 2003 John O'Callaghan

2003 David Hartley 2002 Robert Northcote 2002 Phil Singleton 2001 John Bennet 2001 Frank Hirst

State Pearcey Award

Victoria 2003 Alec Umansky 2002 Jonathan Zufi 2001 Anna Carosa 2000 Rick Harvey 1999 Michael Kolling

Queensland 2003 David Barbagallo

New South Wales

2003 Ted Dunstone 2002 Alex Hartman 2001 Derek Renouf 2000 Clinton Paddison 1999 Michael Gazzard

South Australia 2003 Simon Ronald 2002 Jonathan Baxter

National Pearcey Media Award

2001 Garry Barker



I would like to support the Foundation, so how do I become a Sponsor?

Privacy note If you do not wish to continue to receive this newsletter please

e-mail admin@whitehorsestrategic.com.

Your decision to be removed from our mailing list will be respected. Thank you.

NEW PEARCEY PATRONS

Three new Patrons have honoured the Pearcey Foundation by consenting to fulfil that role.

New National **Patrons Senator Kate Lundy**, Shadow Federal Minister for Information Technology, and the Arts, and

The Hon Richard Alston, formerly Minister for Communications, Information Technology and the Arts, have both given strong support to the Foundation since its inception, with each of them participating frequently in Pearcey events. Their mutual support underscores the bipartisan wish for a reinforcement of the recognition of Australia's contribution to Information Technology.

The new Queensland Patron is **The Hon Tony McGrady**, who has taken over IT as a Ministerial responsibility from The Hon Paul Lucas.

Minister McGrady, Queensland Minister for State Development and Innovation, was very happy to continue the tradition of the relevant Minister acting as the main Patron for the State.

PEARCEY STATE AWARDS For Young Achievers

The Pearcey award is a State award, aimed at encouraging and rewarding fresh and innovative talent in the ICT profession. It is awarded to an individual early in his or her career who demonstrated and has innovative pioneering achievement and contribution to research and development in the ICT industry.

Nominations are now open for the Victorian State Pearcey Award for Young Achievers

We encourage you to get in early and apply or nominate someone you know who has made a significant contribution in the ICT industry.

Nominations close on Friday, 13 August 2004 at 5.00 p.m.

The winner of the 2004 Victorian Pearcey Award will be announced during the ACS National Conference dinner on 3^{rd} September 2004 and awarded by the Minister for ICT, Marsha Thomson.

The Victorian Award includes \$2000, one years membership to the Australian Computer Society (compliments of ACS), 6 to 12 months of mentoring by COMET Business Adviser (compliments of Bob Beaumont) and opportunity to be involved in UCLA GAP (Global Access Program compliments of VicStart).

Major Sponsor for the Victorian Pearcey Award is <u>Multimedia Victoria</u>, State Government of Victoria.

A Nomination Form will be available on the website soon. For further details contact the Pearcey Administrator on 03 9614 8510 or via e-mail admin@pearcey.org.au.

The Pearcey Foundation is seeking a single, exclusive sponsor for the Gala Cocktail party to be held immediately prior to the Award Ceremony. This event will see short-listed Pearcey Award nominees inducted onto the Pearcey honors list.

Interested parties may contact the Pearcey Administrator for a sponsorship proposal or visit the website to obtain a <u>Sponsorship Form</u>.