Home Events Awards Nominations Initiatives Downloads Press News Sponsors About


From Pearcey

Jump to: navigation, search

About us

The Pearcey Foundation is a non-profit organisation founded in 1998 in memory of a great Australian ICT pioneer Dr Trevor Pearcey.

The Foundation operates broadly across the Australian Information Communication Technologies (ICT) sector, from celebrating achievements through national and state awards, to being involved in debate and public policy on critical national issues such as productivity, the digital economy and national infrastructure.


Each year, the Pearcey Foundation organises events and makes awards including:

  • National [Awards] which recognise outstanding achievement in Australian ICT covering the [Pearcey Medal] and the Benson Entrepreneur Award.
  • State Awards to recognise upcoming individuals in each Australian State
  • National Debates on critical issues affecting the Australian ICT Industry
  • Pearcey Oration by an eminent Australian on critical ICT issues

The most prestigious Australian ICT Award to an individual is the Pearcey Medal. From 2012-2104, the national awards were presented as part of the iAwards


The Pearcey Foundation is also proactive in ICT initiatives. For example, in order to accurately measure the impact of ICT in the Australian Economy, the Pearcey Foundation has put forward a Proposal for a Digital Economy Economic Studies Institute (DEESI). The aim of the Institute would be to bring together fragmented and duplicated sets of statistics and analyses scattered among many government, academic and industry organisations. In response to the 2014 Victorian Governments call for comments on their Digital Economy initiative the Pearcey Foundation submitted a detailed recommendation including examples of similar institutes established around the world.


2014 NSW Pearcey Awards evening

  • The 2014 NSW Tech Entrepreneur of the Year Awards were presented at NSW Parliament on 6 Nov 2014 by the Hon Dominic Perrottet, NSW Minister for Finance and Services, on behalf of the Pearcey Foundation, with the pinnacle awards going to: Ben Richardson & Dave Greiner, founders of Campaign Monitor and Tim Power, managing director for 3P Learning
Wayne Fitzsimmons, Pearcey Chair congratulates the 2014 NSW winners

Alec Lynch: Designcrowd, Genevieve George: OneShift, Ben Richardson & Dave Greiner: Campaign Monitor, Jeremy Levitt: Service Seeking, Mike Ford: SiteMinder and Tim Power: 3P Learning ' Winners of the Student Pitching Competition were: Sean Pollock$2000, Ishaan Varshney $1000 and Thomas Headland$500. Further information refer to the press release [>>][1]

[More photos of 2014 Winners are on Flikr[2]]

2014 State/Territory Winners

The seven state awards events were held during June and July in 2014 in each State capital. Results are listed below. All of these winners form the group from which the 2014 Benson Entrepreneur of the Year will be selected by a team of judges drawn from right across Australia. The Benson Award was presented on 29 August 2014 at the 2014 National iAwards.

  • Vic Pearcey Award winners Guy King and Bevan Clark
  • Qld Pearcey Award winner Andrew Jessett
  • ACT Pearcey Award winner John de Margheriti
  • WAiTTA Awards winner Paul Ostergaard
  • NSW State Pearcey Awards winners Simon Clausen & Naomi Simson
  • SA Pearcey Entrepreneur Award Dr Henry Detmold
  • Tasmania Pearcey Entrepreneur Award 'James Cuda


2014 Australia 3.0

Australia 3.0, a multi stream national digital innovation summit covering the innovative use of technology in improving our nation’s competitiveness. The four verticals supported by the major industry bodies were:

  • Infrastructure – Tackling real problems using data to help resolve burning issues in transport and other infrastructure, how we better run our cities and to help us invent the services of the future;
  • Health – what happens if the patient is in charge? Inspiring innovative stakeholders to develop a Health Innovation Hub that can create sustainable new ways in delivering healthcare;
  • Government Services – Identifying sustainable new approaches to public service innovation through a Government Services Innovation Hub connecting digital, data and democracy;
  • Mining – Recognising new approaches to improving mining productivity and sustainability outcomes post the recent ‘mining boom’;

Federal Minister for Small Business Bruce Billson opened the Friday session in a Q&A Panel discussion on competitiveness and innovation. Parliamentary Secretary for Communications Paul Fletcher closed the Friday sessions shortly before speaking at NICTA’s ‘Showcase’ where many of their outstanding research projects were be on show.

2014 Pearcey Oration

The 2014 Pearcey Oration was delivered by Senator Kate Lundy, Senator representing the ACT, as part of the Friday 29 August national iAwards program. Senator Lundy spoke as part of the lunchtime activities shared by some 300 delegates to Australia 3.0, MasterClass and the Hills Yong Innovators pitching competition. The lunch was hosted by Ms Kathy Coultas, Director, Technology Industries, Department of State Development, Business, and Innovation, State Government of Victoria.

Senator Lundy is uniquely placed to observe the development of the ICT sector for the last 20 years and painted a vision of how the ICT sector can position itself to me a major player in the national scene over the next 20 years.


Senator Kate Lundy to retire from politics

28 Nov 2014: Senator Kate Lundy, representing the ACT for the last 19 years, announced this week that she intends to retire from the Senate at the next election. Kate has been a champion of the ICT sector for many years and in fact is the one continuous voice for our sector in the Australian Parliament. We are sorry to see her go. On the 29th August Kate presented the Pearcey Oration at the 2014 national iAwards luncheon in Melbourne (her speech can be seen here). The Pearcey Foundation salutes and thanks Senator Lundy for her untiring support of the ICT sector and, in particular, her sustained commitment to supporting our Foundation, amongst many industry bodies. We wish her well in her next career step in which she undoubtedly will make her mark in the most positive sense.

Prof. Mary O'Kane named 2014 Pearcey Medalist

29 August 2014 - At the 2014 iAwards Gala dinner held at Melbourne's Convention Centre, near 750 guests saw Prof. Mary O'Kane awarded the 2014 Pearcey Medal. Dr Bob Frater and Peter Vogel were elevated to the Pearcey Hall of Fame. John de Margheriti, ACT, was awarded the 2014 Benson Entrepreneur Award. Full details are available on the awards page.

Brenda Aynsley recognised with Order of Australia

Brenda Aynsley awarded Order of Australia in the General Division on the 2014 Australia Day Honours list.

Brenda is well known to the Pearcey Foundation members since her early involvement with Pearcey as South Australia President from 2006 to 2012. Brenda has been prominent in the ICT sector for many years and was elected Australian Computer Society president at a meeting of the ACS congress in November 2013 succeeding Dr Nick Tate.

Previous news...

Contact Us

Pearcey Foundation Inc.
Level 1, 159 Dorcas Street
South Melbourne 3205
Victoria, Australia

P: +613 8646 3883
F: +613 8646 3899
E: admin@pearcey.org.au
T: @pearcey_org [3]

Please email admin@pearcey.org.au if you have any questions about our
Events, Awards, Nominations, Initiatives or Sponsorship. File:Pearcey-logo-v2.jpg?